It is not known when the first church was built on this ancient site but archaeological evidence of tile-working in Roman times offers the fascinating possibility that this first became a place of worship more than 1700 years ago. Medieval Oxford, that "other place" which appeared later in history, was carved out of the royal domain of Headington by the year 912. The earliest known mention of the (royal) village of Headington is in a deed of King Ethelred, dated St Andrewstide (7 Dec) 1004. It was a seat of Royalty during the reigns of the later Anglo-Saxon Kings. King Ethelred is thought to have been christened here. Henry 1 (died 1135) was perhaps the last king to reside in the parish. According to an eminent historian, by the time St Frideswide founded her church in Oxford the nearest centre of government was Headington. It is likely that she spent her childhood here and worshipped in a timber built church on this site. The first reference to the church is in a charter of Henry 1 in 1122.
The churchyard was closed to further burials in 1900.